Home Introduction Learn Astrology Course Contents Jaimini Astrology -  Introduction Contact Us Privacy Policy Shop Online Site Map Links
<< Previous    1  [2]  3    Next >>


The Twelve Houses

When Lord Rama was going to enter Lanka in his battle with the demon king, Ravana, Maharshi Agastya asked him to worship the Sun God first. It is known as the famous Aditya Hridayam Stotra.

In one part of the stotra, there is the famous Surya Mandal Stotra of twelve stanzas. These twelve stanzas are the worship of the Sun’s movement into twelve houses, which represent the twelve well known calendar months.

These twelve houses are called the Bhachakra in Sanskrit or the Zodiac.

Each house has a space of thirty degrees, which when multiplied by twelve gives us three hundred and sixty degrees. The Bhachakra in Sanskrit or the Zodiac has a total span of three hundred and sixty degrees.

Each house, better call it RASHI , has a name and stretches upto thirty degrees each. It is shown in the table given below.


previous lesson course contents next lesson

<< Previous    1  [2]  3    Next >>

Share this with your friends!
Facebook Twitter Digg Stumbleupon Technorati Delicious Yahoo My Web Reddit

Join our Vedic Astrology Newsletter
You will be kept informed about all new astrology lessons. We will add more material to this site periodcially.