Home Introduction Learn Astrology Course Contents Jaimini Astrology -  Introduction Contact Us Privacy Policy Shop Online Site Map Links
<< Previous    [1]  2  3    Next >>

Friendship and Enmities of Planets

Allotment of Zodiac Houses for Planets 

The problem is to allot twelve houses, without partitioning a single one to seven planets, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn. If these twelve houses which are to be allotted to seven planets each planet will get 1.71% house.

The solution given in Hindu astrology is: the Sun owns only one house or rashi, Leo or Simha and the Moon owns only one rashi, Cancer or Karka. Solution Now there are ten houses and five planets awaiting allotment.

The easy solution that emerges out now is allot two houses to each of the five planets.

The Scheme of Allotment thus arrived at is:

Mars is allotted Mesha (Aries) & Vrishchika (Scorpio), two each.

Venus is allotted Vrishabha (Taurus) & Tula (Libra), two each.

Mercury is allotted Mithuna (Gemini) & Kanya (Virgo), two each.

Jupiter is allotted Dhanu (Sagittarius) & Meena (Pisces), two each.

Saturn is allotted Makara (Capricorn) & Kumbha (Aquarius), two each.

There is a very easy way to remember it. Divide these twelve rashis into two divisions six belonging to the Moon and six belonging to the Sun.

The rashi number of the Moon is four (Karka) proceed in backward direction from here 4, 3, 2, 1, 12 and 11. The rashi number of the Sun is five (Simha) and proceed in forward direction from here 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10.

The Lunar Half 4 3 2 1 12 11

The Solar Half 5 6 7 8 9 10

Now Re-arrange It Thus:

Lunar Half : Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn

Solar Half : Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn

To sum up Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn move in a backward direction from Karka. Repeat it from Simha in forward direction.

Happy and Unhappy Conditions of Planets

Hindu astrology which deals with the happy and unhappy conditions of human beings who are happy or unhappy or indifferent or very comfortable in some surroundings, comfortable in some, less comfortable in some, uncomfortable in some and miserable in some, so too planets have different conditions and different moods. The condition of planets in a horoscope reflects it.

Note: Do not take it literally because there are many brilliant exceptions to these rules. If that is not remembered, only a gloomy and fatalistic view of a horoscope will have to be taken, as many astrologers do.

Just as the company of different human beings and different surroundings create different moods in you so do planets in a horoscope. Planets are happy in some conditions and unhappy in some other conditions. There are varying emotional states.


Before you learn the following lesson, overcome the mechanistic attitude of the age we live. Astrology of Hindus is not a set of formulae to be applied in a push-button way. What is being given here is for a quick understanding of the fundamentals only. Do not take them as final pronouncements. If you commit that mistake, you will become dogmatic. 

Hindu astrology is world's most developed astrology because India is the land where astrology originated and, was developed over a period of thousands of years. Here many astrological experiments have been done and many techniques tested and re-tested. Avoid dogma but follow the steps given below. The more flexible but, not romantically stupid, you are in learning astrology, the better are the chances of your developing proper astrological ability.

Remember it step by step

Exaltation & Debilitation

A planet is in an extremely happy condition when he is exalted and is in an extremely miserable condition when he is debilitated (It is not always true, But this fundamental principle is useful for prediction). When and upto what degrees in a sign is a planet exalted is the first lesson you learn.


Note  : Except Mercury who is exalted in Kanya no other planet gets any exalted status in its own house.

Note: All exalted planets get debilitated in the seventh house from their points of exaltations. For instance the Sun is exalted in Mesha. Now count in this way – Mesha first, Vrisha second, Mithuna third, Karka ending with Tula which is the seventh house from Aries.


The second best condition for planets is called as the Moolatrikona. Remember it.

Sun in Simha upto 20 degrees

Moon in Vrishabha upto 27 degree

Mars in Mesha upto 12 degrees

Mercury in Kanya upto 20 degrees

Jupiter in Dhanu upto 10 degrees

Venus in Tula upto 15 degrees

Saturn in Kumbha upto 20 degrees

Note: Except the Moon all other planets get the Moolatrikona condition in one of their own houses.

Own House 

The third best condition for a planet is to be in its own house (other than Moolatrikona house which, except in the case of the Moon is of course its own house). Remember it thus:


Note  : Sun, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn recognize the same house in which they are in a moolatrikona condition, as their own houses. But their other houses are also their own houses. The only exception is the Moon.

 These are three of the happiest conditions for planets in different houses.

previous lesson course contents next lesson

<< Previous    [1]  2  3    Next >>

Share this with your friends!
Facebook Twitter Digg Stumbleupon Technorati Delicious Yahoo My Web Reddit

Join our Vedic Astrology Newsletter
You will be kept informed about all new astrology lessons. We will add more material to this site periodcially.